top of page

CBCA Book of the Year Awards
and Awards Foundation

2024 CBCA Theme square (1).jpg

The most influential and highly respected awards for children's books in Australia,

the Children's Book of the Year Awards have been presented since1946 

to promote children's books of high literary and artistic quality. 

Announcement Dates:

Notables: announced the last Tuesday in February at 7pm AEDT
Shortlist: announced the last Tuesday in March at 12 noon AEDT
Winners and Honours: announced the third Friday in August at 12 noon AEST 

Tune in here for the latest announcement. 


More information is on the CBCA WEBSITE

The advocacy role played by the CBCA promotes the literary experience for children and assures the scope and vitality of Australian children's books. The annual CBCA Book of the Year Awards affirm the quality of some of Australia's most creative people and provide a boost to their capacity to devote time to their craft.


CBCA Book of the Year Awards aim to:

  • promote quality literature for young Australians;

  • support and encourage a wide range of Australian writers and illustrators of children’s books and;

  • celebrate contributions to Australian children’s literature.


Read more about the CBCA Awards Foundation here.


There are six categories in the CBCA Book of the Year Awards. 

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood

  • CBCA Picture Book of the Year

  • Eve Pownall Award for information books

  • CBCA Award for New Illustrator 

For entry information and eligibility criteria, please see the Entry Information on the CBCA website.

Entries for the  CBCA Book of the Year Awards open in September. Please access the CBCA online entry form here.

shadowjudgingtile 2.png

Become a CBCA Book of the Year Judge

NSW judges for 2024-2025 are

Sheryl Cootes

Kayte Eyre

Alex Wharton

Cathie Tasker

Natalia Bragaru

Hear from Wendy Bannister, CBCA NSW 2020-2021Book of the Year Judge in the Early Childhood category on her experience as a judge. Visit the CBCA website for more information on being a Judge.

2019 CBCA Awards Foundation Panel
bottom of page