Lady Cutler Award 2020

Nominations are now open for the 2020 Lady Cutler Award

Nominations close February 28, 2020

The award will be presented at our Aspire & Celebrate! event in November, 2020

Megan Mitchell, Karen Jameyson, Bruce Pascoe and Gail Erskine

Karen Jameyson recipient of the 2018 Lady Cutler Award.

About the Award

The Lady Cutler Award is a bi-ennial award, administered by the CBCA NSW Branch, for Distinguished Service to Children’s Literature. It commemorates the contribution to the Children’s Book Council NSW Branch by Lady Helen Cutler, its first patron, accepting the appointment in 1966, when her husband Sir Roden Cutler became Governor of New South Wales. Lady Cutler continued as Patron of the CBCA NSW Branch until her death in 1990. Lady Cutler saw her role as one of service to the community. She recognised the needs of children and encouraged CBCA NSW Branch members to advance the cause of children’s literature throughout the state.

While many have made a significant contribution in this area, their work was often unrecognised, so, in 1981 the CBCA NSW Branch, headed by then President, Eddie Coffey inaugurated the Lady Cutler Award, with sponsorship from Hodder & Stoughton. From 2012 the award came full circle with Eddie Coffey taking up the sponsorship in the name of his company, Peribo

The Award consists of:

A framed certificate;A cameo (brooch or pendant) The recipient’s name engraved on the base of the perpetual trophy, a Wedgewood vase, and have the honour of retaining the vase until the succeeding award presentation.

Nominations should be submitted on the Official Nomination form.

Please read the Advice to Nominators & Criteria carefully.


© 2019 CBCA NSW Branch Inc

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram