top of page

The Aspiring Writers Mentorship
was presented on 

November 11  

This year two writers were awarded the Cottesloe Mentorship with Cathie Tasker, and the Charlotte Waring Certificate at the Aspire and Celebrate Event:

Kelli Bradicich and Tracey Sloan.

Kelli Bradicich, Cathie Tasker and Tracey Sloan


Kelli Bradicich

The Great Big Aussie Bus trip

Tracey Sloan

The Lost Boy of Divine

Runners up Linda Harrison and Helen Hayden with Cathie Tasker as they receive their certificates and their copies of How to Be an Author and access to writing videos from Fremantle Press

2023 Longlist

These aspiring authors presented their pitch

  • Kelli Bradicich  The Great Big Aussie Bus Trip

  • Kelly Doyle Two Trains

  • Leanne Edwards Bug Cake with Snail Slime Icing and Worms

  • Annelise Fatkin  Griffin's Guard

  • Linda Harrison  Moonlight Wallaby

  • Helen Hayden  From the Ashes

  • Bree Morgan. Up. Around. In.

  • Tracey Sloan. The Lost Boy of Divine


 Thank you to all those who entered this program 


   We thank Fremantle press for their support in

    providing copies of

    How to be an Author

    and access to their writing videos to the runners-up.

Fremantle logo with border.PNG

Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program

The Winner receives the Cottesloe Mentorship:  5 hours face to face mentoring with Cathie Tasker

and the Charlotte Waring Award Certificate.

Are you a budding writer?

Do you have a manuscript ready and would love to be published?

Enter the Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program for a chance to be professionally mentored


Consider entering in 2024 

Key dates
Open date: July 1
Closing date: September 2

 Entries will be received in these categories - Young Adult, Middle Grade and Picture Book.

Cost of entries: CBCA members: $50. Non-members: $65 

Entrants must upload the appropriate entry form. There is a different entry form for each category. Enter the category best suited to your manuscript. If submitting multiple manuscripts, one entry form per manuscript is required.

Longlisted authors will be invited to present their pitch before the Shortlist and Winner of the Cottesloe Mentorship is announced at A.spire and Celebrate event


Please read the Terms & Conditions carefully and comply with all the conditions outlined. The terms and conditions also contain information on how files are to be formatted, saved and uploaded.

Terms and Conditions are here.

4 Steps to enter:

1.  Complete the 2024 Support Form. You will need to include the manuscript title, genre, target age, pitch, back page                 blurb, writing experience and synopsis. 



2.  Submit your manuscript.

       You may find this easiest with a

       gmail account.



3.  Email to alert us of your entry. click on this link

     email - use the subject AWMP2024

4.  Pay the entry fee: Members use Hello Club

                                    Non - members click the link on the form

Click here if you need help to  How to write a pitch guide.

About the Aspiring writers program

The Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program was re-launched in 2021 with sponsorship by Cathie Tasker who will mentor the winner.  Fremantle Press will provided 2 runners-up with access to their online writing course plus the text How to be an author by Georgia Richter & Deborah Hunn.


The Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program aims to foster the talent of aspiring writers of children's literature across Australia and is open to all Australian citizens residing in Australia.

2021 - Cathie Tasker Banner.png

CBCA NSW Branch and Cathie Tasker are delighted to enter into a five year partnership to ensure that this important program encouraging aspiring writers is maintained. The winner receives the Cottesloe Mentorship and the Charlotte Waring Certificate.


Cathie, a publisher and editor, now works as an independent creative writing consultant. Over her career, she has commissioned nearly 800 books. She is passionate about books and reading, in line with the objects of the CBCA NSW Branch.


When asked about how the Cottesloe Mentorship came about, Cathie Tasker said - “I loved judging the CBCA  Book of the Year Awards, and joined a great panel of other judges. The face-to-face discussions about the quality of books submitted were a highlight of my year. When the judges came together in Perth, Alan, my husband and I wanted to follow a long-held dream - to watch the sun set at Cottesloe Beach. We hoped it would  be a special moment for us. Alas this was not meant to be due to torrential rain. Dreams can come true but not always as we imagine them. I have named the Mentorship for that moment with the hope that  the Cottesloe Mentorship will be a special moment for an aspiring writer.”

Authors whose careers have been launched by this program include the best selling/award

winning Michelle Cooper, Kristy Eagar, Jacqueline Harvey, Nathan Luff. 

Full list of previous winners is here.

bottom of page